A Trip to Vermont: “The Human Form” at the Darkroom Gallery

My photo on the wall

As I wrote last time, I was planning to drive up to Essex Junction, Vermont, this past weekend to attend the opening reception of the “Human Form” photography exhibition at the Darkroom Gallery, where one of my prints was selected to be in the show.
Well, I did in fact go there and return safely.  Things got off to a rough start on Saturday when my GPS malfunctioned and I was unable to enter a destination, but thankfully I was about to get through to Tom Tom on the phone and got the problem straightened out without too much trouble.  The drive up took about seven and a half hours with two stops, including one for dinner at the China Moon Buffet in White River Junction, VT.
The reception was very nice, with a lot of fine images on the walls, and the turnout seemed to be pretty good for a small town in Vermont.  Besides me, four other contributing photographers were there: Bert Halstead from Massachusetts, local artist Denise Trotier Johnson, Will Swanson from Montreal and Juror’s Prize winner Magnus Snorrason from Iceland via Massachusetts.
Also on hand were body painting artist Dinash and her model Ollie, who walked around sans top through the event.
As you can see, I made some photos at the event, which I’m posting here.  I’m also trying something new here for the first time: video.  I made three interviews with some of the artists mentioned above speaking about their work and just posted them on You Tube.  If I can figure out a way to embed there here, please take a look.  The videos are not very long.
Of course, if you’re in or near the Essex Junction/Burlington area, I encourage you to visit the gallery and see the show itself.  It should be up on the walls through February 19.  See the gallery’s website here.

My friend Dave Levingston's photos

Bert Halstead with his photos

Ollie and Dinash

The winner of Dave Levingston's raffled calendar

Magnus Snorrason with his prize winning photo

Will Swanson with his photos

Yours truly with my photo

Ollie poses

Yours truly, Will, Bert and Magnus

And now, video!!!
Bert:
Dinash and Ollie:
Magnus:
That’s all for now, folks.  Please let me know what you think!

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Trip to Vermont: “The Human Form” at the Darkroom Gallery

  1. simon1a says:

    Thank you for an interesting and “human” article, if you see what I mean?

  2. Thanks, Dave, it was really nice meeting you at the exhibit!

  3. Sue Robinson says:

    Dave,
    This is really terrific! I especially love your photo of Ollie sharing the same pose with the woman in the hanging photo. Thanks for sharing your story and your pictures of our gallery with your world!
    — Sue Robinson
    Manager of Darkroom Gallery

Leave a Reply

