Figures of Grace: The Website

A little over a year ago, I decided to create a new website for my photography.  Actually, I had no choice in the matter, as the old one suddenly disappeared without warning.  I guess that the friend who had created it and was hosting it was no longer doing such things.
I tried a couple of ready-made websites with some options for customization, but I was not really happy with them.  I knew the basics of what I wanted, but couldn’t find a site like that.  Then someone suggested that I just go and have one custom made – so I did.
Naturally, I put a lot of work into it at first.  One of the reasons was that I had placed an ad in the back of Black & White magazine and I wanted the site to be ready when the issue was released.  (On the other hand, I also placed the ad not just as a means to try to sell a print or two but as an impetus to get the website ready.)
Well, the issue came and went without much interest in my ad.  The only response was from a woman who I had met at a workshop a few years before and she just wrote to say ‘hi.’  Left rather unenthused about placing more ads, I kind of forgot about the website, too, especially as I was busy just keeping up the blog here.
Recently, though, I felt it was time to update the website.  The first thing to do was to update my resume to include the exhibit in Los Angeles last year that had three of my photos in it and another one coming up.  For some reason, though, I could not make any changes. No new text could I write, I couldn’t see any previews and so on.  On the viewing side, the slideshow function didn’t work at all when I clicked on a thumbnail.
I mentioned this to my friend Dave Levingston, and he suggested that I switch from Internet Explorer 9 to Google Chrome.  I figured that it would be worth trying, so I did – and Dave was right.  I can now make changes to my website again and the slideshow works.
While the first thing I did was to update my resume, I also got to work uploading photos.  I added about four photos to my gallery of Nevada nudes, two photos to my gallery of travel photos of Laos and eight more to my Tibet travel gallery.  Most of all, I added a totally new gallery of studio nudes with a dozen images.
For some reason, I never actually announced the launch of my new site because I always felt that it needed more content added.  Well then, I guess now is about as good a time as any to officially announce the website to the world, even though I’ve already had the link to it posted here and on  my Model Mayhem page.
Still, I invite you all to visit my new website, enjoy my photographs there, and let me know what you think of it.  The website’s address is:
www.figuresofgrace.com

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Figures of Grace: The Website

  1. Well done, Dave! Looks great.

  2. Bill Ballard says:

    I’m with Terrell; the site looks very nice. Given the changes I expect in my life this year, I’m sticking with the blog as my primary web presence. And I did get your call and message from last week; I have been ‘crazy-busy’ as they say and am about to depart again for another working trip. I’ll do my best to get back to you in the next week.

  3. dewayne says:

    Sir,

    Your work is really awesome and you are literally a creative genius…..
    I too want to become a artistic photographer like you and any-thing I could do for you would be a pleasure…..

    I am an engineer by profession and know web development well………if anything I could do for your site………..please let me know,

    and knowing you would be enough in return Sir.

Leave a Reply

