The Beauty of FILM

Okay, I admit it.  It’s been a week and a half since my last posting here.  Still, I will plead guilty with condition – that condition being that I’ve been busy developing my big backlog of film.  That film stretched from a photo shoot in August to one just a couple of weeks ago.  I began with 59 rolls of 120 film to develop.  Having gotten 42 developed in the past week and a half, I’ve got only 17 left to take care of.  Hopefully those will be processed before too long.  After that, I can concentrate on making prints once again – which, as I have said before, is the ultimate goal of my photography.

Now that most of the film is developed, I still need to file them into pages and annotate those pages before I can begin scanning.  So, as I’m not sure when that will be done and since I’ve been writing about film, I thought I’d do something different today and include photos of – well – film!

That’s right, photos of film from my recently processed rolls.  That’s because I believe that there is an inherent beauty in film, especially black and white negative film.  There’s just something special about seeing these gems which were touched by the very light that was recorded for people to see.  The fact that they hold negative images just seems to give them a touch of magic along with a sense of the unreal.  It’s as though we’re looking at something from another world, another dimension, another reality.

Several years ago, a book was published by writer John Loengard titled “Celebrating the Negative,” in which the negatives of many famous images were photographed delicately held by people’s hands.   My negatives here may not be of famous images (yet!), but as less people sadly seem to use film today, let us celebrate the negative for the beauty which it holds – and the beauty that digital photographers today are missing (even if they don’t know it).

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Beauty of FILM

  1. Bill Ballard says:

    I love film; I miss my darkroom sorely. I understand the passion completely.

Leave a Reply

