Behind The Back

Studio Nude, 2009

I wrote in my last post about how I much prefer to work in a beautiful natural setting than in a hotel room when it comes to photographing nudes. The same can be said for studios: I’d rather be in the great outdoors, or even an interesting indoor setting.
Still, there are times when working in a studio is necessary if I am going to photograph a model. It’s mostly the case when I’ve got a model to photograph here at home in New York, either because it’s too cold to work outside or because there isn’t time to get to a good location outside of the city. When I photographed JMax in February 2009, it was definitely too cold to go outside, even if I had the time to go to an outdoor spot, so we had to work in my studio setup.
Right now, in September 2011, I still consider myself a newcomer when it comes to studio work, but two and a half years ago, it was even more so. I had photographed a lot with my black backdrop, but I wanted to try using the gray backdrop more. That backdrop is two sided – one side a light gray and the other a darker shade.
With JMax, I chose to use to the lighter gray, but was it the right choice of the two? I think this is a nice, simple image as it is, but I think the darker gray might have worked better to contrast more with her light complexion.  If I’m fortunate enough to have the chance to work with JMax again, I’ll need to put a little more experience to good use.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Behind The Back

  1. I think you did a really fine job with this photo, Dave. And I think the light background works ok. What really makes the photo, though, is the hand, both the very graceful position of the hand and the way you’ve lit it with a lovely highlight against the darker shadow behind it. It all works very well to make a beautiful photograph of a beautiful lady.

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    Thank you for the comment, DL. I also think the image works reasonably well, though as I recall I needed to burn in the backdrop to make it darker while prepping it for posting. Of course, as you wrote, Julie is a very lovely young woman, so much of the credit should go to her.

Leave a Reply

