Kat

Studio Nude, 2011

I had a couple of visitors staying over last weekend: the photographer Gary Mitchell from Ohio and the model Kat from Florida. They each needed a place to stay while visiting New York, so I blew up the ol’ air mattresses and gave them places to rest their heads and bodies for a few nights.
Before she left, Kat was kind enough to agree to doing a short photo session with me. We didn’t have a lot of time, but I managed to shoot half a dozen rolls of 120 B&W film. I decided to play around with some fabric and some backlighting, and I think the results are interesting. I haven’t developed the film yet, so for now, here are some quick snaps that I made with my pocket digital camera.

Here, too, are a couple of photos of Kat made at dinner one night.

**********************************************************************************************************************
Back in the Dark
I did something very unusual yesterday: I printed photos. According to my notes, the last time I printed photos was on July 4, 2010 (!). Yes, it had been a day short of a full year ago when I had last printed photos.
Considering this, having been out of the printing routine for so long, I think I did okay, making four 11 x 14 inch prints each from four negatives: three from Venice in 2009 and a nude from California in 2008. (See below.)
I printed these in particular as I plan to donate a couple to a benefit auction later this year and I needed to print up some photos that I entered into an upcoming juried competition. I have one more as yet unprinted image from that submission, so I plan to print that one next time.
Hopefully it won’t take another year to get around to it.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kat

  1. Dave says:

    I think you are getting the hang of this studio thing, Dave. Nice work! And isn’t Kat just simply fantastic, as a model, as a photographer and as a wonderful person? I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you did with Kat and film.

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    Thanks for the comment, DL. Much appreciated (and I’m glad you have web access where you are).

    Regarding Kat, she is nice to have around – and she doesn’t make too much noise…LOL I’ll see if I can develop the film next weekend if I can.

Leave a Reply

