California, Here We Come!

I’ve decided to become more active recently in trying to get my photographic work published and exhibited. I’ve entered the Photo Review’s annual competition and just sent off some work, via computer, to a gallery in Vermont which is having a photo competition with the subject of shadows.
A few weeks ago I also submitted half a dozen images to a juried exhibition at the 1650 Gallery in Los Angeles. The show is titled “Exposed: The Contemporary Nude,” so I figured that it would be up my alley, so to speak. Well, the submission has paid off, as I found out last week that three of the photos were selected for the gallery exhibition and another one for the additional online exhibit.
So, this week I matted the three photos, boxed them up and mailed them out on Tuesday to California. (The post office confirmed that they were delivered today, too.)
I don’t know how the other photos in the exhibit were made, but these three of mine are 11 x 14 inch silver gelatin prints made in a darkroom. (In other words, as I like to call them, “real photographic prints.”)
At the top here is a photo of the three prints together. The individual matted prints are below. Unlike most of my work posted here, which is scanned from the negatives, these are photos of the actual prints.
For those of you in the Los Angeles area who would like to see the prints, the opening reception will be on Saturday, July 9, from 7:30 pm to 10:30 pm, I believe. The gallery is located at 1650 Echo Park Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90026. It’s not far from Dodger Stadium, according the map.
For more information on the gallery, click here.  You can also see the photos selected for exhibition here and the online annex here.

Untitled Nude, 1999, #1

Nude, Nevada, 2006, #1

Nude, Los Angeles, 2007, #1 (aka "Banned by Kodak")

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to California, Here We Come!

  1. You’re so nice to put people up. Say HI to Gary for me if he’s still there!
    The photos of Kat are gorgeous. I don’t know how you did it, but I love the effect.

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    Thanks, Doctor J, but my visitors left last week. Glad you like the new photos (even though you’ve left the comment on the previous post!). Perhaps I’ll give you the secret one day…LOL

Leave a Reply

