Desert Fox

Nude, Nevada, 2011

I returned home last night from a trip to Las Vegas, where I spent a bit over a week’s time. It was pretty busy, as I had something to do every day: meeting people, visiting family, seeing a show, scouting for photo locations and, of course, photographing models in the desert.
The first of the two models I photographed was Melissa, who I had met previously but had never worked with before. I wanted to get out early to get the good early morning light, avoid people and beat the heat, so she was good enough to meet me at 4:30 in the morning to head out to my chosen location. We did get there in time for a beautiful sunrise.
As usual, here are a few of the snaps from the session that I made with my little Canon S90 pocket digital camera. As I finished developing all of my previous film before I set out on this trip, I am in a position to begin developing the new film right away, which is something that I want to try to do.
Developing the film, though, is just the beginning of the process. Before I like to begin scanning negatives to show here, I first want to file them into pages – and before I can begin filing this new film, I first need to file the 23 rolls of film that I shot in Vietnam in March, which is a process that is likely to take some time.
So, for now, enjoy these.

*************************************************************************************************************
Speaking of my trip to Vietnam, you may recall that my suitcase was left behind in Hong Kong for some reason while I continued on to arrive in Ho Chi Minh City (aka Saigon). I didn’t get the bag until three days later, when my group was in Hanoi. Well, it nearly happened again.
When I checked my bag in Las Vegas yesterday for my flights home to New York, via Phoenix, I noticed something odd on the destination tag which the check-in agent attached around the suitcases handle. The first destination was PHX (Phoenix), which was correct. The final destination on the tag, though, was BOS. I’m assuming this means Boston, but whatever it means, it’s wasn’t JFK, which was my destination in New York.
“Excuse me,” I said, “but why does it say BOS when I’m going to New York?” The woman checked again and admitted that it was wrong, taking the tag off and printing out a new one to attach. The suitcase did arrive with me in New York, but if I hadn’t taken a look at the tag, it probably would not have.
I think you can figure out the moral of the story.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Desert Fox

  1. Melissa says:

    Love these photos – you were a blast to work with, and I can’t wait to see what else we shot that day. Glad you’re home okay. Moral of the story? If you want something done right… 🙂

    • Dave Rudin says:

      ….check to make sure that other people have done it right!!! LOL

      Thanks for the comment, Melissa. I’m glad you like the photos and had fun making them.

  2. Lin says:

    Great photos – I love that last portrait shot in particular. Melissa is radiant!

  3. Dave Rudin says:

    Thanks, Lin. Glad you like them so.

Leave a Reply

