Abstract Alaskan Art

Landscape, Alaska, 2011

Today is Memorial Day here in the United States, when we honor those who fought to protect our country and didn’t make it back.  My dad was a veteran of World War II and thankfully he did make it back, but there have been a great many over the years who have not, so let’s think about them today and remember what they’ve done so that we can enjoy the day off today.
On that note, I’ve decided to post some photos of the United States today, although they came about unplanned – on my trip to Vietnam in March.  A lot of people like to get aisle seats when they fly, but I myself am partial to the window, as I love to look out and see what’s down below, even if there’s not much to be seen for most of the
trip.  I even try to get a seat on the side of the plane which should be away from the sun, as having the sun behind me is normally better for seeing than having the sun in front of me.
Naturally, it’s also better for photos should anything worth photographing appear below, and on the way to Vietnam something did:  Alaska.  For a long time, I’ve said that if I could visit just one of the 50 states, it would be Alaska.  (Well, at least until I found out what kind of person the residents there elected as their governor.)
Alaska has the kind of wild, natural beauty that is unmatched in any state, and while flying west from San Francisco to reach the East, I pushed up the window shade and there was southern Alaska down below. Seeing that down below, I knew that I wanted to make some photos, so I reached down into my carry-on bag and took out my pocket camera.
What passed below me were a series of mountainous landscapes, alternating with the sight of snow covered rivers snaking their way across the terrain.  The mountains were stunning to see in the early morning light, casting beautiful shadows behind them, but the flat landscapes with the rivers looked to me like a form of natural abstract art – hence the title for today’s post.
So, here are some of those photos.  Enjoy.

These next photos were made of the southern Alaskan coastline.  The ‘figure’ in the middle of this next photo makes me think of a courtier in the court of ancient Persia.

Lastly, a couple of photos of those beautiful mountains I wrote about.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Abstract Alaskan Art

  1. Wow, Dave! I love these. Especially the first set, but they are all very fine work. Amazing for snaps out the window of a plane. I’m impressed.

  2. Lin says:

    Phenomenal photos, especially since I know how difficult photographing from a plane is – because I’ve never been able to do it!

    • Dave Rudin says:

      As I’ve written, Lin, one of the keys is trying to get on the side of the plane that will be away from the sun, if that’s possible. Of course, you need to be lucky, too, as I was with these photos. The plane happened to be in the right place at the right time – just look at those perfect shadows cast by the mountains, with the sun directly behind us – and I happened to pop up the window shade at the right time, too!

  3. Dave, these are some wonderful shots. I’m talking totally amazing.

  4. Pingback: Bad Wolf Bay? | Figures of Grace

  5. Conrad Conero says:

    I second (third) what everyone else has said. Great photos under any circumstances, but from a plane! Amazing.

Leave a Reply

