Sarah Ann

Untitled Nude, 2011

I wrote last time that I had recently filed into pages the negatives from my two most recent photo sessions with models, both of which occurred earlier this year.  In the last entry, I posted a couple of photos of the first model.  Now come some photos from the second session, with model Sarah Ann.
I had noticed Sarah on the internet a few years ago when she was modeling under a different name.  A few months ago, I was talking with a photographer friend, discussing some of the models we each had worked with.  He asked me if I knew of a model named Sarah Ann who he recommended, and I said no – not realizing that she had changed her modeling name.  He was kind enough to give me her information, so I took a look at her portfolio, I wrote to her, we talked and then set up a photo session not long after.
It wasn’t the easiest going, though.  I was setting up my Pentax 67, loaded a roll of 120 film, and then when I tried to take the first photo, the mirror froze  partway up.   Obviously, this was not good.  I  had put in a new battery just a few weeks earlier, so that wouldn’t have seemed to be the problem, but I put in a new battery, anyway.  The results were still the same – a stuck mirror.

This didn’t leave me much choice.  The Pentax was unusable, and with my trip to Vietnam coming up quickly, there was no way that I’d be able to take it with me if it needed repair, as fixing it could take a month.  For the moment, though, I had to worry about my shoot with Sarah, so I went to my backup, a Fuji GW670 medium format rangefinder.   This is also a very good camera, though as it has a fixed slight wide angle lens, it has its
limitations.  Nonetheless, I think I left the session with some good photos made.  Here are three photos from the beginning of our work.
As for the Pentax, I was actually thinking of using my trip insurance to postpone the trip until I could get the camera repair if that were necessary.  Happily, it wasn’t.  Although a new battery didn’t help at first, I needed to do a couple of other things, including pressing a button on the camera’s front with a pen. Then the camera returned to its normal, working functionality.  The frozen mirror like this had never happened before, and I didn’t know how to handle it.
Now I do.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

