The Shadows of Venice

Shadows, Piazza San Marco, Venice, 2009

I’ve included photos of nudes in my previous two blog posts, so today I’m going to go back to Italy.  Last time it was my series of wedding photos in Rome in front of the Pantheon.  This time, I take you to La Serenissima – better known to people as Venezia, or Venice.
I’ll say it before and I’ll say it again:  I love Venice.  There is simply no other place like it, at least as far as I know.  Sure, some people may complain that the hotels and the food are expensive and not the best in Italy, but so what?  Where else can one find a place filled with so much history and beauty and that attribute for which Venice received its alternate name – serenity?  After spending time listening to traffic in places like Rome and Florence, Venice is a welcome relief.  (The food at the Chinese run pizzerias there that I’ve written about before is actually okay, too.)
Places like Piazza San Marco may attract crowds, but even in the high tourist season, walk away into the residential neighborhoods and the crowds thin out as the streets grow narrow, too.  I love just walking around and getting lost.  In fact, I actually count on getting lost to make new discoveries.  Last time there, I came across a wonderful little shop where an artist was painting porcelain masks for sale, all because I had no idea where I was going (even though I thought at the time that I did!).
Today’s photos both involve shadows.  I think that’s appropriate in a way, as Venice seems like a shadowy place with many secrets to uncover.  The one at the top has not been posted here before.  I may have posted the one below on my old blog, but I’ve decided to post it again here for those who may not have seen it last time, and I’ve reworked it to make it larger, too.
At the top is a photo of the colonnade around Piazza San Marco (aka St. Mark’s Square).  I like the way that the shadows cast by the columns in late afternoon interact with the multi-toned tiles on the floor.  I also decided to tilt the image to keep the shadows relatively parallel the horizontal axis of the image.
One of the beautiful things about Venice is the elegance of the metal railings that grace the multitude of little bridges throughout the city.  Below you will see the image that resulted when I happened to come upon one particularly graceful railing at just the right time of day, when its shadow was being cast perfectly onto the steps of the bridge.  As I gazed upon this image intently on my computer screen, those shadows almost seemed to come alive, seeming to move and swirl a bit before me.  Have they had that effect on anybody else???

 

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Shadows of Venice

  1. Ahhh, Venezia. Indeed, an eternal carnivale, and so deeply beautiful in the still of the night. And, yes, the shadows in the bottom photo have that affect on me, too. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

