Better Than Bob

Nude, Ohio, 2010

Hi, folks.  It’s another weekend here in Figures of Grace-land.  I had intended to develop some film today, but that hasn’t happened.  Yesterday, after a week of getting to bed later than hoped for, I slept late and stayed home.  I had thought of going into Manhattan to see a preview of an upcoming photography auction and maybe go to some galleries, but I ended up staying here to do some “de-crapperizing” (a term given to me by an Australian man I met on my trip to Laos and Cambodia in 2008).  Believe or not, I actually made some real progress.
So, today I will try to do more or the same.  It’s not easy being a natural born collector with a limited amount of space to put things like books, CDs, DVDs, etc.  Hopefully I’ll get to finishing off my remaining film next weekend, as I want to get the film from Vietnam all done before I begin shooting more film.

***********************************************************************************

As for film already developed, you can see a couple of photos that I just scanned from my trip to Ohio last summer.  The model here is Kelsey Dylan, who, in my opinion, is definitely better (looking) than Bob.  I also think she’s better( looking) than Dylan Thomas, who Bob took his name from.

**********************************************************************************

As for other things, I wrote last time that I had sent a 16 x 20 inch print up to the George Eastman House in Rochester, New York, for its benefit auction in October.  Well, the print arrived safely, and the woman who’s coordinating the auction write me this nice message:
“Hi Dave,
The print arrived today – it’s gorgeous, and refreshing to see a classic nude gs (gelatin silver) print printed masterfully.  Thank you so much.”
 It’s always pleasing to read that people like my work, but coming from someone who works at the Eastman House and must deal with lots of photos, it’s a bit more meaningful.  I’ll try to use it as an impetus to get back to printing on a regular basis the way I used to do when that particular print was made.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

