Wedding Photos, Italian Style (Part III)

Wedding Couple, Rome, 2009

Well, this is the third and final installment in my series of photos of this particular newlywed (or soon to be wed) couple who I happened to come across in Rome a couple of years ago.  I thank those of you who have been staying with it, with particular thanks to Doctor J and Lin for commenting on the earlier posts.
As I wrote last time, I was holding my favorite photo of the set for the final posting of the series, so here it is above.  Like the others, it was made with my Pentax 67, which yields an oblong – not a square – negative.  However, I think it looks best cropped square.
Yes, this is a little unusual for a wedding photo.  Then again, I did not intend this to be the kind of image that went into an album of pretty photos.  In the normal photo of a newlywed couple, there are two primary characters – the bride and the groom. 
When I saw this scene, though, I knew I had to include a third character that was on the scene, which is the face in the fountain on the left.  Yes, it’s out of focus, but I think its presence is definitely felt, observing the scene in a somewhat menacing way.  It’s in some of the earlier photos, but I think its presence is most strongly felt here.
Add to that the groom’s partially obscured face and his distracted gaze and I think it adds up to a photo which is not your typical wedding photo – and for that I like it.  I’d like to know what other people think.

I’m also posting three final photos from the series.  The next one shows the bride in front of the Pantheon, where I believe she’s filling up a bottle with water from the fountain.  Those who’ve been to Rome probably know this, but those who haven’t may not know:  even though these fountains are centuries old, the water coming from them is potable – and on a hot Roman summer day, that water is most refreshing.
The next two photos are details of the fountain, with a face surrounded by a couple of demonic looking dolphins.
After thinking back on my trip to Rome, all I can say is this:  my next trip to Rome will not come soon enough.  Thankfully, I threw a coin into the Fontana di Trevi on my final night there.

**************************************************************************************

On the subject  of thinking back, I celebrated an anniversary yesterday.  Yes, yesterday marked the fourth anniversary of my getting hit by a car while crossing the street on the way to the subway.  For those of you who are wondering why I would celebrate such a thing, look at it this way:  I got hit by car and was rushed to the emergency room strapped down to a stretcher – but hey, I am still alive and I can still walk!!!  (On the other hand, the two broken fingers on my left hand still bother me a bit now and then.)

For those of you who have not read the tale, click here and also here to see my blog posts from back then.
*************************************************************************************************
 Finally, I want to pass on something I read today.  Readers will know that I am very critical of New York City’s mayor Mike Bloomberg and how he used over 100 million dollars of his personal fortune to ram a third term as mayor down the throats of city residents.  However, I give him credit for what he said recently to mark the opening of an outdoor exhibit of sculptures in New York by Ai Weiwei, a prominent Chinese artist.
Ai Weiwei had originally planned to be at the opening, but he couldn’t make it.  Not only is he one of China’s best known artists – he helped to design the Bird’s Nest stadium where the Beijing Olypmpics were held – but he is also one of China’s best known political dissidents who apparently is not afraid of criticizing the repressive government in Beijing.  On April 3, he was arrested by the Chinese police and has not been heard from since.  His studio was sealed and searched.  Several of his assistants were interrogated and some have disappeared, too, from what I read.  (Read about him here.)
So, this statement from Bloomberg’s speech struck a chord with me, and I thought I’d share it.
“Artists risk everything to create.  They risk failure.  They risk rejection.  They risk public criticism.  But artists like Ai Weiwei, who come from places that do not value and protect free speech, risk even more than that.  His willingness to take those risks, and face the consequences, speaks not only to his courage, but also to the indomitable desire for freedom that is inside every human being.”

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wedding Photos, Italian Style (Part III)

  1. OK, Dave, the groom looks like one of those malicious cupids you see in Renaissance art. Hmmmm, the god of love as a bad baby. Kind of like the little guy stabbing St. Theresa with an arrow in the Bernini sculptural group located in…Rome. You are right. This is not the usual wedding photography.

    I’ve enjoyed this series very much.

    • Dave Rudin says:

      Thank you again for your input, UL.

      Next time I’m in Rome, I’ll have to make sure to see that Bernini. I did, however, see a lot of others by him in Rome – especially at the Museo Borghese.

  2. Lin says:

    I echo Dr L. This is a stunning series – definitely amongst the finest of your work. I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see these published in various prestigious photography magazines in the future. (And you could make a tidy living as a high-class wedding photographer too, should you ever feel that way inclined!)

  3. Bill Ballard says:

    Quite nice Dave. And I say that very rarely where wedding photos are concerned. (Not that what I say matters; but hey, I do have some opinions!)

Leave a Reply

