Natalia III

Nude, Los Angeles, 2006

Hello again, everyone.  Yes, I know that it’s been almost two weeks since my last posting.  Sometimes life just gets in the way of things.  This time it was preparing for the holiday, getting to bed late preparing for the holiday, trying to get to bed early to make up for getting to bed late preparing for the holiday, going to a holiday dinner, more cleaning up around here, etc.  You get the picture.
Anyway, back to photography.  My last posting included a photo of a model who I photographed in my hotel room in the Los Angeles area in the summer of 2007.   That was my second visit to the LA area, the first having been in the winter of 2006.
Each visit was a short one and somewhat incidental.  For the second visit I was invited to attend an event, and for the first, I was returning to the US following my first trip to Laos and Vietnam.  It was on that first trip that I made the photos seen on this posting of model Natalia.
This was my third time photographing Natalia in about half a year’s time.  Each time was in a different state of the US.  I had first met her and photographed her in Arizona in the autumn of 2005.  Then, in January 2006, she made a trip to New York where I photographed her in my studio set-up. 
I can remember that it wasn’t easy meeting her, though.  I had told her to exit the subway station near me at the quieter south end, but when I drove up with my car to pick her up there, she was not to be found.  So, I decided to drive around to the much busier north exit.  There were plenty of people on the sidewalk bustling about in their heavy winter coats.  I couldn’t see Natalia.  I didn’t want to wait at the bus stop that’s in front, so I moved my car a bit further down the street.  When I did so, a hooded figure whose face was obscured appeared to move with me.
“Could it be her?,” I wondered to myself.  I stopped the car and the mysterious hooded figure approached.  Looking at this person’s figure, it looked like it could be Natalia, so I took a chance and opened the car door on the passenger side.  The hooded figure got in, sat down, slowly removed its hood, and…….it was indeed her.   (I hate to think what I would have done had it not been her!)
As for our third session, meeting was a lot easier.  Natalia lived in LA, so she just drove to my hotel and picked me up with her car.  That was the easy part.  Finding a location to do a nude photo shoot was another story altogether.  We rode around for about an hour trying to find a good spot, but each place we went to proved to be unusable.  Finally, Natalia called up some friends who agreed to allow us to use their secluded backyard as a location, and that’s where these photos were made.  As I haven’t posted anything for a while, I’ve decided to post three photos (all made consecutively, though not necessarily in the posted order) to make up for my time away.
A final note regarding locations around Los Angeles:  these two brief trips are the only two times I’ve visited there.  San Francisco seems to be more of my kind of place, as far as the two big cities in California go.  I’d much rather walk than drive (even if it may be uphill at times). 
Still, there are times when circumstance takes me to LA, which is why I made arrangements with Natalia and with Betcee (from my last posting). I photographed Betcee in my hotel room as I simply did not know where else to go.   As it turns out, I plan to visit California later this year, and I’m considering another brief visit to LA to photograph a model or two.  Of course, the problem still remains: where???

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

