Maria

Studio Nude, 2008

I received an e-mail a few days ago from the beautiful model Maria Eriksson.  I first met Maria in 2007 when I photographed her in southern California.  Then when she came to New York in April of 2008, she stayed with me for a week, working with me in my studio set-up one day.  (Needless to say, I am waiting for her to make a return visit.)

Maria’s career has certainly taken off in the past few years.  It seems that she hardly stays still, travelling internationally as a much in-demand glamour, fashion and art model.  She’s been published many times, the highest profile being as the February 2010 Playmate of the Month in the Croatian edition of Playboy.

Now, her e-mail says, she has a six page layout in the new, very first edition of Playboy in South Africa.

To celebrate Maria’s continued success, I‘m posting one of the photos I made during the studio session at the top and one of the California photos, too.  The studio image is a little unusual as I was testing out the boom arm that came with the lighting kit – something that I haven’t used that often – yielding light coming from above rather than from the side.  Perhaps I should use it more often.

Nude, Malibu, 2007

So, my congratulations to Maria.  I’ve seen a PDF file of the new layout and she looks fabulous as usual, but I don’t think there’s a web link I can offer that has the whole thing.  Still, click here to see the intro pages to it.  For those who want to see some of her photos in Playboy Croatia, click here to see her on the cover and here to see her centerfold photo.

*********************************************************************************

I also want to mention a new addition to my blog links.  I had a nice conversation on the phone today with Ray Bidegain, a very accomplished photographer who lives in Portland, Oregon who has just started his own online journal.  His work includes art nudes, landscapes, portraits and still lives.  In addition, he prints primarily in platinum as well as processes such as wet plate collodion – hands on methods of photographic printing that are the complete opposite of the push button digital printing that I see more and more today.

My own photography collection includes numerous prints of Ray’s.  I look forward to reading his blog.  I hope that you’ll take a look, as well.  Click here to see his website, too.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

