Home from Vietnam

Hoan Kiem Lake

I returned home from Vietnam late last (Sunday) night. I only wrote one blog posting when I was away, with no photos included, even though I tried to do so (the pictures wouldn’t upload) and even though I did write a second post a number of days later (that one wouldn’t post for some reason).

It’s getting late now here and I don’t have too much time to write, but I do want to post something now. To give a quick rundown of what I did after leaving Hue, where I made that one semi-successful posting, the next stop was Hoi An, a town whose old town is a UNESCO world heritage site with many old buildings build by traders centuries ago. I was here five years ago and it was nice to be back, especially as the town is filled with art galleries selling beautiful drawings and paintings at very reasonable prices. (I came home with some.)

Next was a flight further south to Nha Trang, which is a beachfront resort destination. After a couple of days there, it was a drive into the central highlands of Vietnam to Dalat, a nice city that was founded by the French as a cooler alternative to the hot summer climate along the coast.

Finally, we travelled back to Ho Chi Minh City, the city formerly known as and still commonly referred to as Saigon, the former capital of South Vietnam. While Hanoi is Vietnam’s political capital, Ho Chi Minh City is its economic capital, with a lot more shiny new buildings and shops than Hanoi and a lot more being built.

Overall, I shot 23 rolls of 220 film on the trip, and as I finished developing my entire backlog of film before I left, I am now in a position to begin developing this new film next weekend. I’ve still got to file a lot of the film that I developed before I went away, so it’ll take a while before I can file and scan this new film, but hopefully it won’t take too long and be able to post some of these Vietnam images in the near future.

Meanwhile, as I was unable to post any of the snapshots I made with my pocket digital camera while I was away, here are a bunch of the snaps that I made in Hanoi at the beginning of the trip.

Entrance to the Temple of Literature

 

Interior of Temple of Literature

 

Water Puppets

 

A balcony in the Old Quarter

 

Mother and Child

 

Motorbike in Motion

 

Ho Chi Minh's Residence

Entrance to the "Hanoi Hilton" Prison

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home from Vietnam

  1. Lin says:

    I always love reading about your adventures in foreign climes, and Vietnam is no exception. Great photos – I can’t wait to see the rest 🙂

Leave a Reply

