Sarah Ann

Sarah Ann

I drove down to Philadelphia last weekend to work with a new model, Sarah Ann, who had been recommended to me by a friend. (Well, she’s new to me, but hardly new to modeling.) It was worth the trip.
First, my car needed the workout. It managed to survive sitting untouched outdoors in the cold and the snow for at least six weeks without the battery dying, but I figured that it was due for a good ride.
Secondly, it gave me the chance to use my new GPS unit for the first time on a long trip, and it worked pretty well. I had looked up the directions online just in case, and those told me to drive across the Benjamin Franklin Bridge into Philly after exiting the New Jersey Turnpike and taking a few roads.

Well, the GPS did tell me to get off the turnpike where the other directions indicated, but when it came time to switch to another road (according to the web directions), the GPS told me to keep going. “Okay,” I thought,” let me see where the GPS takes me.” I was getting pretty worried as it seemed to be taking me away from where I needed to go, but then I finally saw that it was taking me not over the Franklin but over another bridge. When I got off of the highway in Philadelphia, I made one wrong turn as the map on the GPS can still be a little confusing when there’s a convergence of streets, but it recalculated and did get me to where I had to go.

Once I got to the location and met Sarah Ann, there was another adventure – my camera stopped working. I got my Pentax 67 set up on the tripod, advanced the film to the first frame, flipped up the mirror as I normally do for shots on a tripod, and then….nothing. The camera was dead. The shutter button pushed in but the shutter didn’t trip. I thought it might have been the battery, but as I had just put in a new battery last month, I didn’t have another one with me.
So, I ended up shooting ten rolls of 120 film with my backup camera, a Fuji GW670 medium format rangefinder, plus a couple of rolls of 120 with my Holga. Believe it or not, I have already developed all but the last three rolls – and I hope to finish those after I finish posting this.
As for Sarah Ann, she was wonderful to work with – a lovely person with a beautiful face and figure, as you can see from these snapshots made with my pocket digicam. She even played some opera music while we worked. What could be better?

Once I get my film filed away and scanned, I’ll post some of the images, but as this film is at the end of the queue, it’ll be a little while. I still have a lot of earlier film to file and scan, so you’ll be seeing those first.
***************************************************************************************
On the technology problem front, there’s some good news and some bad news. The latest computer problem was that my webcam that I use with Skype had stopped working. I called up HP’s tech support (in India, of course) and the person I spoke with suggested I do a restore that would set the computer to its original settings. She told me that HP’s restore program would automatically save files on the hard drive by backing up files to my external drive.
Well, the good news is that the restoration worked and the webcam is now fully functional, which it never was before. Unfortunately, the music which I had copied to iTunes from my CD collection was nowhere to be found. When I did a search for a song title it could be found and was then added to iTunes, but not without doing so.
So, I contacted HP again yesterday and somebody (in India, of course) helped me to restore those hidden music files to iTunes. Excellent. I thought I was done with it – until I noticed that some albums seemed to be missing from iTunes that I knew for sure had been copied before. I looked at the number of albums on iTunes and then at my iPod, and I saw that there are 160 albums on the iPod that are not on iTunes.
I called up HP to find out what to do, and their basic response (though not in so many words) was “tough.” The woman I spoke with said that those albums probably were not backed up because they must have had some glitch in them. Yeah, right.
So, I cannot connect my iPod to iTunes to add anything new until I get all of those 160 albums back, and the only way to do that, apparently, is to copy them from the CDs all over again. I have begun making a list of the missing ones.
Needless to say, I am pissed.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sarah Ann

  1. Tom McElvy says:

    David:

    There are a couple of programs that wil read your ipod/iphone and restore your music from the device to your harddrive. Check out mypodapps.com and ipod access at findleydesigns.com One of those should help you out!!

  2. Dave says:

    Dave, that last photo you posted here of Sarah Ann may be one of the best photos you’ve taken. I’ll be looking forward to seeing the film version of it. Great work. And she is indeed a beautiful model.

    • Dave Rudin says:

      Thank you for saying so, Dave. I’m glad you like it. As a matter of fact, I just developed the film a few hours ago and I look forward to posting some of those images, once the film is filed and scanned.

  3. Felix says:

    These are great! Do you have any of her clothed at all with the cool lighting? When are you going to put more up?

  4. Terrell says:

    Excellent! Especially that last one. Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

