Merrique’s Back

Studio Nude, 2010

Hello again, all.
The news now is pretty much the same as last time:  I’ve been developing film, trying to catch up with things.  Today I developed another six rolls, finishing up the film I shot in Ohio last August and getting into the film I shot in Nevada in September.
That brings the “to be developed” list of film down to 19.  If I keep at it I may even be able to get those all done by the end of the long holiday weekend next weekend.  Still, as I also wrote last time, I’ve got another photo shoot planned for this month, so the whole seemingly endless cycle of “shoot, develop, file, shoot, develop, file…” will continue.
Regarding filing, I’ve gotten up as far my photos of the model St. Merrique, who came over to my studio to work with me last June.  You can see one of my photos of her at the top.
Normally, I use a standard black or gray background for my studio work, but sometimes I like to put up some fabric and put the lights behind it, which can yield an interesting backlit effect.  I think Merrique’s back looks pretty good here.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Merrique’s Back

  1. shoot, develop, file, shoot, develop, file

    Yep.. I hear ya on that one! Such is life right?

    April

  2. Another alluring title, Dave, and I am a Merrique fan! Gorgeous shot! Happy Valentine’s Day!

  3. Bill Ballard says:

    Dave,

    As you know, I’m in much the same – or at least similar, loop: shoot, EDIT, file…etc.

    All a means to an end…or back. Nice image.

  4. Dave Rudin says:

    Thanks, Bill.

    Just a question, though. In your case, how is filing different from editing?

    Someone on Facebook also commented on this post saying that I forgot to mention “print,” which is true. All of this shooting, developing and filing has one ultimate goal – to make good prints, which is something I really need to get back to doing (if I can find the time between the shooting, developing and filing, that is!).

  5. Only if you believe in saints, Dave. Do you know any?

Leave a Reply

