Fun with Fille

I did another thing on Monday that I had not done for a while.  I photographed a model.  Some photographers seem to photograph models several times a month, but I usually do so only several times a year.  I think the last time I photographed a model was back in early September, when I photographed Fiona Flowers near Las Vegas in Nevada.
The model this time was filledevega, who has been visiting New York this week.  We had made plans for me to photograph her in her hotel room in Manhattan, so despite my aching back, I put on my twenty pounds of camera gear and along with my tripod, off I went.
As I’m sure I’ve mentioned here before, I feel the most comfortable photographing nudes in an interesting outdoor environment.  I can work indoors, too, but I usually like the setting to be unique in some way.  A generic hotel room is not the most visually stimulating to me, which forces me to try to think differently than normal.  Sometimes I come up with weird and bizarre stuff, and that’s what happened on Monday.
While we were working, a woman on the housekeeping staff knocked on the door and gave fille (as I will refer to her from now on) a clean, new liner for the trash basket.  As fille held the basket, I just began to imagine it as a kind of opaque lampshade and thought of the phrase (from “The Honeymooners,” I believe), “At a party, he’ll be the first person to put a lampshade on his head and do a dance.”
So, I came up with the idea of using the basket as a lampshade to put on someone’s head, and fille was good enough to go along with idea.  While I use black & white film for all of my serious photos, it will probably take several months until I get around to developing this film (hey, I’m still working on my film from Japan last May!), so here’s a quick snap I made with my digital point & shoot camera in the meantime.  It looks goofy but I think it’s kind of funky, too.  Fille also liked it when I showed it to her.  (Now that I think of it, perhaps I should have tried to do some photos of her dancing with it on, too!) 
 Despite my writing about this particular photo, most of the ones I did were relatively normal.
Afterwards, fille and I went out to eat.  I had considered taking her to Lombardi’s, a great old pizzeria on Spring Street in SoHo, but as she had expressed a desire to go to Katz’s Deli on Houston Street, where the famous scene in “When Harry Met Sally” was filmed, we went there instead.
As you can see, she enjoyed her pastrami sandwich.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun with Fille

  1. Bill Ballard says:

    Dave,

    Now that’s thinking on your feet! I’ve always disliked shooting in hotel rooms, for many reasons, chief among them, shooting in a hotel room. Looks like it was a fun shoot. breaking the mold is a good thing at times.

Leave a Reply

