Musings

I had a photo session yesterday in my studio set-up with Muse. For my last photo session, with Erin, I used the new quartz light that I had recently purchased. Yesterday, I mostly used my two reflectors with umbrellas on both of them. This is the lighting set-up I used for my recently developed photos of Sibyl Nin from last November, and as the images on the film looked good, I thought I’d try it again.
Here are a few digital snapshots from yesterday’s session. The film images should look better.
*********************************************************************************

My friend Dave Levingston told me a few weeks ago about the website of Vietnamese photographer Thai Phien, that he himself had come across on the Art Nudes blog. I looked up Mr. Phien’s website and he does indeed do beautiful work of different varieties – art nudes, landscapes, people, etc.

I also looked up an English language interview with him posted on a Vietnamese website. You can see it by clicking here, and if you have a few minutes, I think you should read it. Titled “Painstaking Nude Photography,” it’s not very long, and it will give you an insight into what attitudes are toward nude photography in that part of the world and what he’s had to go through to get some of his images.
********************************************************************************

I’ve been informed that Chris St. James, the force between the art nudes blog Univers d’Artistes, will be returning home shortly from his stay in the hospital. If you’re reading this, Chris, I wish you a speedy recovery and I hope that you’ll be feeling better.

Finally, a welcome to the latest Followers to the blog: Z, gRiMz and Adrian Popa.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Musings

  1. These pictures of Muse are gorgeous. I especially love the second one. Such exquisite detail yet a feeling of softness. Is this the effect of the quartz light? I would love to be photographed in lighting like this. Her skin just glows.

  2. Saintz says:

    Very refreshing to see this new style Dave and very impressive as well.

  3. Dave Rudin says:

    Thanks for the two comments.@ UL: I'm afraid you misunderstood. I used the quartz light, which is rather harsh, for my photo session before this one. The photos with this posting were made using two tungsten lights with umbrellas, which soften the light – the opposite effect of a direct light from the quartz.

Leave a Reply

