50


Today is my birthday. I am now 50 years old. I now qualify to be a full member of AARP. Does this make me officially “old”??? (Maybe I’ll just grow a long beard like my fellow Dave’s Levingston and Swanson to show my age…)

On a positive note, I like to say that I am not just a year older, but also a year closer to retirement. Unfortunately, I still need to wait another 12 years before I can take up photography full time!
***************************************************************************

Above: sunset at St. Tropez back in 1996, from the days when I was shooting medium format color transparency film in the hopes of making a few dollars doing stock photography. (Like most of the things I’ve tried to do, that idea didn’t really pan out, either.)
****************************************************************************

Finally, whether you celebrate Passover, Good Friday, Easter or something else, have a good holiday weekend, everyone.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 50

  1. george says:

    Welcome to the club. I let my wife join AARP – I hate their politics but love the discounts.50 is about when I shaved my (white) beard off, wife had been complaining for years that it made me look too old…..I just thought hiding my face improved the appearance.

  2. Young punk.Fifty is the time when you think of yourself as a collectors item. Look forward to being antique.I can remember when my father turned fifty. My brother and I hid out in a bedroom and talked about dividing up his stuff because he was going to die soon. He is still alive at 89 years of age. I sometimes wonder if my children talked about the same thing when I turned fifty. But that was awhile ago, and I am sure that if they did they have long given up on the idea I am going to go tits up soon.Don’t blow off AARP. They have some good things to offer. Although you can probably pass on the group outings and such.Happy birthday my friend.

  3. Hsppy birthday Dave. Welcome to the society of geezers. I’ll see about getting you your very own Golden Buckeye card.

  4. Happy Birthday! 50 is indeed a pivotal age, one I remember as “I was so young then!” Through the decade, though, look for strange things to happen!

  5. Happy birthday, one day late. Do you consider it strange that all the best wishes are coming from people senior to you?

  6. Lin says:

    A belated happy Birthday, Darcy! Hope it was a good one. Fear not, 50 is the new 40 apparently, which makes you round about due for a mid-life crisis, I guess:-)

  7. Hello Dave and belated happy birthday! You’re just a young whippersnapper. I’m going to be 70 on 5/31/09 and my husband will be 75 on 6/23/09. Furthermore, my mother’s sister will celebrate 85 years on April 13, 2009. We could have been your babysitters! Beautiful photography here. My husband has been captivated by digital photography and has spent hours to transfer his photos to http://www.webshots.com. I’m going to add you to my blog list. Visit me soon! Cordially, Ellen KimballPortland, OR

Leave a Reply

