"Carrie Leigh’s NUDE" magazine

Well, it’s here. An advance copy of Carrie Leigh’s NUDE magazine. The premiere issue. Volume 1, Number 1.

And a bunch of my photos are in it! (Can you tell that I’m happy about this???)

It has been several months since I received an e-mail (that was buried among the spam in my Bulk Mail folder, as I recall) from one of the editors of this new publication asking me if I’d like to contribute photos to the premiere issue. As the e-mail said, “Carrie and I are very impressed by your work and it fits into the style of her magazine….We would like to include you in the September issue.”

Well, I am always flattered when I receive comments like that, but I’m also wary of allowing my photos to be used in something that I really know nothing about. So, I called Gary, the editor, and spoke with him at length a number of times. He convinced me that their magazine was a legitimate effort dedicated to fine art, under the guidance of former Playboy cover girl turned art photographer Carrie Leigh, so I decided to go ahead and take part in the project.

Having the magazine now in front of me, I’m glad that I did. I can see that a lot of care went into its production. The pages are of heavy paper with a nice sheen and the images were printed using a quad tone (four color) process – something that’s not commonly used for magazines, from what I understand.

That’s the technical side of it, but of course that’s meaningless if the photographic art isn’t worthwhile – so I’m happy to report that the art work in this magazine is very fine, too. There are a number of pages devoted to me and my photography (and we all know how good that is…LOL) but there are similar contributions from a number of other fine photographers with varying styles. The one thing in common is that the subject matter is fine art nudes photographed in black & white.

I don’t want to write too much now as I think people should take a look at this magazine for themselves. The website for the magazine (http://www.carrieleigh.com/) lists the release date as September 14, though I’ve been told that some dealers may have it a little earlier. It will be available at Borders bookstores and newsstands (I believe) like Hudson News.

I’ll just finish by saying that if you like fine art nudes – especially those in black & white – Carrie Leigh’s NUDE is something I think you’d enjoy seeing.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to "Carrie Leigh’s NUDE" magazine

  1. Dave, congratulations! Very, very well deserved!I looked at the online version of the magazine, and I was very impressed with the quality of work they featured.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I have the first issue of Carrie Leigh’s Nude and must say there is no magazine out there that compares. The quality and taste of the art and the printing without is fantastic. 99 % of all photo-magazines are just about ads and all the same people over and over again. Here someone made and effort to show class !!!!Congratulations Carrie Leigh !!!!

Leave a Reply

