Kids on the Street, Bepa, Tibet

Well, today is the Labor Day holiday here in the U.S., which means that most people here can get a little more sleep for a day. Thankfully, I was able to do so. In fact, this weekend was the first time since my return from Tibet that I felt awake enough to watch any videos. (I watched “Roman Holiday” on Saturday and “Sabrina” last night. I might complete the Audrey Hepburn trilogy today with “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.” )

Anyway, as far as my photography goes, I am still waiting expectedly to get my advanced copy of NUDE: The Art of Women (www.carrieleigh.com/ ) in the mail. As I wrote last time, all indications are that this quarterly publication has been produced with the highest quality. It should be an excellent showcase for my work and the other photographic artists included. Hopefully I’ll get it in a day or two.

For today’s posting, I’ve decided to write about the photo at the top. I picked up a few 11 x 14 inch prints of Tibet made at Adorama a few days ago and showed them to some people in my office. Everybody seemed to love this photo seen here. Here’s the story behind it:

Most of the first half of my trip to Tibet was to a part of eastern central Tibet rarely visited by Westerners. On the way heading back west to the capital, Lhasa, we stopped for lunch in a small town called Bepa. Like many such towns, Bepa has one main street lined with buildings that have shops and restaurants on the ground floor. After finishing my meal, I had a few minutes to walk up and down the street to try to take some photos.

After photographing a number of different people, I came upon this group of kids sitting on the sidewalk in front of a building. The photo at the top was the one that I had printed up, but in fact it took four photos for me to finally arrive at this image. I’ve decided to post all four photos to show how this came about.

In the first photo (labeled ‘1.’), there are five kids. Three of them seem oblivious to me. Two are looking off at something else and the third seems only interested in his drink. For the second photo (‘2.’), I decided to move in closer, but I’ve only got the attention of one of the kids.

Then something else happened: a sixth kid showed up. The little girl with the pink pants and shoes (on the left end in photo 3) then took charge of the situation. She re-arranged everybody, fit in the new girl (the one with the red shirt, second from the right) and then basically demanded that I take another photo of the group! Of course, I was only too happy to do so, but as seen in photo 3, getting the attention of a group of kids all at once is not an easy thing. Finally, with the fourth photo (top) I was able to do so.

Of course, besides these photos with my compact digital camera, I was taking photos with my Pentax 67 film camera, so there was some other give and take going on, as well. Still, I’ve pretty much explained things as they happened, and the kids seemed pleased when I showed them the photos on the back of my digicam.

Throughout these photos, the one thing that seems consistent is the look that the little boy in the green shirt was giving me. Either he is one helluva serious kid or I did something to really piss him off. In each photo, if looks could kill… – well, I probably wouldn’t have come back from Tibet alive!

So, that’s it for today. Enjoy the rest of the holiday weekend, everyone. For my next posting I hope to give you a report on the new publication. As always, stay tuned.

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kids on the Street, Bepa, Tibet

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi Dave,These pictures are great. I myself and going to Tibet soon and am having a bit of dilema. I am debating bringing a film camera or a digital camera. Having brought both, do you have any suggestions? I have a Nikon D70 and a Nikon N65 which I like to use Velvia with. I find I can’t get the saturation I like with the D70, but I don’t know that I want to fuss with dragging film around. I’d love to hear about your experience.

  2. Dave Rudin says:

    Dear Anonymous,Thank you for your comment. I’m glad you enjoy my photos.As for taking film and/or digital, my primary camera is my medium format film camera. It’s a very big camera to take around with me but this is what I make my ‘serious’ photos with, using BW film. My digital camera is a point & shoot camera that I can fit into a shirt pocket or a pants pocket, so it does not add significantly to what I have to carry around. The digital is good for taking photos of people that I can show to them right away, and they usually enjoy seeing the results.I cannot tell you whether to take a film SLR or a digital SLR. That depends on what you like better. I like film better, so I give priority to my film camera and use the digital camera to supplement it. I don’t think you should worry about the “fuss with dragging film around.” I did it with no problem – and people were sometimes interesed in seeing me load the film into the camera. Again, the choice is yours to make. I hope that these words have been of some use to you.Yours,Dave

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

