On A Roll

JackieChantelle2309_1
The title of this post may have you thinking that I’ll be writing today about ordering food at a restaurant or a deli.  (You know.  “Gimme a tuna melt on a club roll – and hold the celery!”)
Well, you would be wrong.  Instead, I’m happy to report another success: one of my photos , “Nude, Ohio, 2007, #1” (above), has been selected to be part of another juried exhibition.  This makes it three in a row, plus the publication in the French magazine, so the year 2014 has indeed gotten off to a good start for me.
This exhibit is called “The Photographic Nude 2014,” and it will be held next month at the LightBox Photographic Gallery in Astoria, Oregon.  This nude exhibit has become an annual event at this gallery, and this year’s juror was Mark Sink, a photographer who has become well known of late for his antique looking wet plate images.
I’m also happy to report that my friend Dave Levingston will have a photo in this exhibition.  That’s appropriate, as he told me about the location for the photo and drove me there – after, of course, picking up the model in the wee hours of the morning.  (Thanks again, DL.)
I had written at the end of my last post that I had entered this competition.  As I wrote then, I normally do well in shows specifically dedicated to nudes.  As it happened, I almost didn’t enter it.  The deadline for entering was this past Tuesday, and as I’ve been working a lot of overtime lately, there’s a lot of catching up I need to do at home.  One of those things was entering this show.
As I got home late after work on Tuesday, feeling tired, I asked myself if I really wanted to go to the bother of choosing and prepping photos for this.  Ultimately, I decided that it would be worth it, so I went ahead and did what I had to, though I had to fight fatigue the whole time and indeed nodded off a few times here in front of the monitor.  Still, it now seems to have been worth the effort.
What’s next?  Regarding competitions to enter, I don’t yet know.  As for food, it’ll be lunch time before I know it.  Perhaps a tuna melt will be in order – and definitely with no celery!

About Dave Rudin

Dave Rudin is a fine art photographer based in Brooklyn, New York. He specializes in art nude and travel photography, using black & white film and making silver gelatin prints in a darkroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On A Roll

  1. Joe Vargas says:

    Congratulations Dave. I am happy for your success. You deserve the recognition. You work is exquisite.

Leave a Reply

